Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Hi from Lymington in Hampshire UK

bruce hawsker

Hello everyone,

I am an amateur photographer who is now in a position to enjoy his youthful hobby of astronomy which has been neglected for 30+ years!

I am considering purchasing a second hand Celestron Edge HD 11" OTA and pairing it with a Hyperstar to turn it into a flexible astro camera which I can also view through. I am considering buying one of two mountings: the iOptron CEM60 or the Sky-Watcher AZ-EQ6GT. Any advice on this choice would be much appreciated.

I understand I may need to purchase an advanced high precision focuser.

I am hoping to short circuit the expense, learning curve and hassle of auto guiding - am I dreaming that the above short exposure camera system would work for me?

I intend to use a cheap Canon DSLR bought for this purpose, (as well as holiday snaps!). I expect to use Backyard EOS as my controller but have no experience of this. I am assuming the laptop carries out the intervalometer role? Any particular EOS should I aim for - looking at second hand market for new models barely used....

I have loads of experience of photography and am relatively happy with stacking and using Photoshop. My intent is to stack many short exposures (probably no more than 15 seconds??) to avoid an auto guiding solution.

I am also intrigued by video astronomy which seems to have fallen in cost very sharply recently and wonder whether a DSO-1 by Astra Video Systems might add to the fun.

I will be taking the kit out to a New Forest car park in the back of my Disco so weight and ease of set up are a consideration. As is budget (if my other half ever finds out! - she is joining a rambling club which seems to require less outlay!!).

Thank you for any advice.

Bruce

Hi Bruce,

Warm welcome to SGL. Hope you enjoy the forums, Grand bit of Hampshire that you live in, easy access to the solent!