NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Hello from a learner living in darkest Wales

Langworthy

I've been fascinated by astronomy since I was a child - I'm now 56! I have recently bought my first telescope, a Sky-watcher Explorer 200P and am having such a lot of fun - and in the last few months I have learnt an extraordinary amount both by reading and looking. As a dyed-in-the-wool bibliophile my already large book collection is now expanding at a rate which is seriously alarming my wife. Who needs shelves anyway?

I'm not a scientist by training (I studied law and history and I work as freelance editor of academic law and history titles), so I often struggle with the heavier scientific details involved in this hobby, but I'm just about keeping my head above water. 

I've already placed a few posts on this site with some very basic, non-scientific, practical queries and they've been fully answered by some really helpful, friendly folk.

Anyway, hello one and all.

• Replies 38
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Warm Welcome to SGL Langworthy. Great scope to start out with, if you need a few tomes try 'sky&telescope pocket star atlas' and 'turn left at orion' these will help you 'learn' the sky. Also download a planetarium program, plenty out there but try Stellarium, its great and free, to be found here

:----- http://www.stellarium.org/

Hwyl!

Warm Welcome to SGL Langworthy. Great scope to start out with, if you need a few tomes try 'sky&telescope pocket star atlas' and 'turn left at orion' these will help you 'learn' the sky. Also download a planetarium program, plenty out there but try Stellarium, its great and free, to be found here

:----- http://www.stellarium.org/

Hwyl!

I have both the Pocket Sky Atlas and Turn Left at Orion on my desk as I type this. Both really useful. I'll check out Stellarium - thanks.