Newbie from Hartlepool

NosamLuap

Hi all - I just picked up my first telescope (a Sky-Watcher Explorer-130P), and right on cue the clouds rolled in :)

I'm a keen photographer, so I'll be hoping to get some images once I figure out how to drive the telescope and where to point it.

cheers

Paul

• Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Thanks all :)

Hi and welcome. Download Stellarium - it's free and should help you locate targets.

Peter

I was about to say "Ah, I use Linux so...", then found that Stellarium is actually supported on Linux. Happy days! I'll download that now, thanks. 

Hi Paul & Welcome to SGL.  Have a look at the Imaging forum if you are interested in AP & the Beginners for help & advice on using the scope.  You can always type your scope into the search section, top right & you will find other posting on the 130P, there is a scroll down box just pick forums.

Hi Paul and welcome to SGL - Good to have you on board. Perhaps give imaging a miss for a while, it's a different beast altogether and wildly different from anything you may do during the day time!

Look forward to seeing you around :smiley:

Hi Paul and welcome to SGL - Good to have you on board. Perhaps give imaging a miss for a while, it's a different beast altogether and wildly different from anything you may do during the day time!

Look forward to seeing you around :smiley:

Hmmm... run before walk, eh? ;)

I'm sure it's good advice, but I'm itching. I understand my slr well, I understand night photography (time until stars streak give focal length etc). And a telescope is just a lens, isn't it? :p

Well, I popped my telescope cherry last night :)