Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Hi everyone!

Sakura

I'm a Uni student from Australia.  I'm completely in love with the beauty of the night sky ever since I saw a comet as a child. Been using the naked eye to observe the stars for years, but lately I've decided that I wanted to take this a bit more seriously and have bought a book on astronomy for beginners, alI that is to buy a telescope :D Currently thinking of purchasing the  Skywatcher 6" Dobsonian telescope.

Am looking forward to all the new things i will learn.   

• Replies 37
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Sakura and welcome to SGL from an Aussie now in the uk. You'll not go wrong with a 6" dob. A larger one will allow you to see more but it also costs more and is harder to transport. Get it out to a really dark site and it's as good as a 10-12" in light polluted cities. Where abouts in Oz are you? I'm from Wollongong, just south of Sydney origionally.

Welcome to the Forum!

A 6" is a neat Starter telescope, If you can stretch your Budget a Bit you could Get a 8" ( http://www.google.com/m?hl=de&gl=de&client=ms-android-sonyericsson&source=android-browser-type&q=clark+vision+m51 <-equals the impression under Good conditions when observing longer; Comparison simulation of deepsky objects with smaller telescopes: http://www.binoviewer.at/beobachtungspraxis/teleskopvergleich_deepsky.htm / , )

If you want to observe planets, that will work in mediocre conditions as well, for deep sky, a dark location is key, else even bright nebulae may be only faint ( http://www.perezmedia.net/beltofvenus/archives/001459.html ) or not visible at all. First indicator of a dark location: milky way visible?

If Not you will have to Transport the telescope to a dark Site (car, or at least a bike hanger, or something smaller that'll fit into a backpack -> Heritage 130p for example).

What ever you may choose:

Good luck with your purchase and have a lot of fun getting started :-)

It's an amazing hobby.