Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

hello

ben the mercian

Hello everyone. Im Ben , im a current serving british soldier based in Germany but origionaly from Wolverhampton.

Ive been interested in astronomy for many years now but decided 8 months ago to dive in and buy myself a telescope.

I currently have a skywatcher explorer 130, but considering buying something a bit bigger.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. thanks guys. :smiley:

• Replies 32
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Heya Ben and welcome from another new member    :smiley: .

I took a small leap from 5" to 8" and I am very happy about it. I will be careful to give you any

upgrade advice, but for visual use people in here are fond of skywatcher 200p dob. I got the similar Orion XT8i

anyways welcome from me  :smiley: .

Rune

Hi Ben and welcome to SGL - Glad that you found us. There's masses of friendly and knowledgeable folks on here that will help with any issues. I don't look through my scopes, so can't help you there I'm afraid :grin:

Look forward to seeing you around :smiley:

Thanks guys. I came across the forum whilst researching a new scope. It just so happens that the one I was looking at is reviewed on here.

Its had a good review from you guys and a lot of other people. Its a big leap in size for me , from a 5.1 inch to a 12 inch dob. ive got the room for it and the dark skies out here so I decided im going to go for it in a couple of months.

Hi Ben and welcome to the forum. Moving to a 12" scope is quite a jump, might need to have a lie down after observing with it as the views you will see might come as quite a shock compared to the scope you have at the moment!  :grin:  :grin:  :grin:

Clear skies and hope you enjoy the forum.

James

haha I had to have a lie down the first time I saw Saturn. It blew me away , had to take a step back from my scope to take it all in.