Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Hey Gazers! Newbie alert!

slothead

I'm Tom, a newbie both on this forum as well as in astronomy.

I'm a systems engineer and consultant to NASA/GSFC and DARPA and space-based hardware suppliers.  My specialty is Reliability Engineering and deal primarily with spacecraft buses (rather than instruments) including the Compton Gamma Ray Observatory (GRO), the Extreme Ultra-Violet Explorer (EUVE), the Upper Atmosphere Research Satellite (UARS), the Hubble Space Telescope (HST), the SOlar Dynamics Observatory (SDO), and most recently the Joint Polar Satellite System (JPSS).

I have yet to buy a telescope and will rely on the NASA/GSFC Astronomy Clubs resources until I can figure out what I want to buy and use.  But first I have a lot to learn about the celestial environment and the way we Earthlings find things with in it.

I'll be anxious to see what you all have to say and show.

• Replies 30
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi and welcome to SGL :)

Nice job you have there! 

Can you not ask your buddies at Nasa to borrow Hubble for a while ;)

Im sure you will get plenty of advice on what will suit your needs so i hope you get set up soon and look forward to hearing the results!