Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Hello from bonnie Scotland! :)

Nadine2704

Hi there!

I'm Nadine and I live in central Scotland.  I have no real experience with anything astronomy-related, just a great love for gazing at the stars!  I once won a competition for making the best paper-mache Jupiter when I was 5; that's about the extent of my expertise! :p  I've always been fascinated by space, and I've FINALLY invested in my first telescope, which I'm just waiting for to arrive!  I went for a Sky Watcher Skyliner 200P 8" Dobsonian after a bit of research; also bought a 2x Barlow Lens, but to be perfectly honest I have no idea what I'm doing haha!  I'm hoping that a bit of common sense will help me figure out what I'm doing, when it arrives, but if anyone has any tips at all, about ANYTHING, then they'd be greatly appreciated!  

I'm really interested in astro-photography too.  I don't want to jump right in at the deep end and buy a whole load of gadgets that I don't know how to use, but does anyone have any tips on getting as decent as possible photos using the scope I've bought, plus a mobile phone/generic digital camera?

Nice to meet you all, and thanks for any tips you can give me! :)

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Welcome to SGL Nadine - Glad that you found us. There's loads of stuff on here to get you going and if you do get stuck, then just shout!

Regarding imaging, perhaps just find your feet first, then do some more research and decide if it is something that you want to do. Have you looked in the iaging section? Will give you an idea of the sort of things that are possible and what kit you need to get there.

Look forward to seeing you around :smiley:

Hi Nadine