NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Greetings from the West Country

Shelster1973

Before I started plundering the site for advice and infomration, thought I would say hello to all here.

Totally new to astronomy so it is all going to be a big learning experience...one which I am very much looking forward too.

Have started off with an Orion 8" f3.9 astrograph which is mounted on a Celestron Advanced VX mount.  The main aim is to get my Nikon D7100 clagged onto the tube and start taking some photographs of what is out there, but have a fair way to go before then.  My main proble,m seems to be balancing the tube so that it actually aligns and then tracks....it seems to dropping crazily at the moment.  Nothing that a trawl through the threads here and some judicious YouTube viewing can't sort out.

Anyway, hello...

• Replies 32
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi from sunny Cheshire, I am totally new to this and I am looking to purchase my first telescope. I was looking at the Celestron 114 or 130 models, can you give me any feedback on these or any ones you think would suit.  Cheers in anticipation.

Hi from sunny Cheshire, I am totally new to this and I am looking to purchase my first telescope. I was looking at the Celestron 114 or 130 models, can you give me any feedback on these or any ones you think would suit.  Cheers in anticipation.

Hello and welcome to SGL. Out of the two I would get the Skywatcher version of the 130. They share the same mirrors but the Skywatcher 130 has a better finderscope and less plastic in its construction.

PS it might be worthwhile starting your own thread rather than post a question in someone else's

Hi all

Many thanks for the very warm welcome, makes me feel like I am in teh right placve to ask my questions....

Have just been doing some looking on the web and thsi may be a complete noob / numpty / idiot moment here... but am going to open myself up for the ridicule, it may help someone else out.