Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Here is the North American Nebula in the Hubble pallet and HA.

I'm still a relative novice to the Hubble pallet adjustment and didn't want to overcook it? Most probably it can be pushed a little further?

The image was capture using the trusty ST10 and the BabyQ FSQ85 over the course of this month. I have been battling with the weather to complete this before my holidays start tomorrow!!!

12x 800sec HA

17x 600sec OIII (2x2binned)

15x 600sec SII (2x2binned)

I binned the OIII and SII since these are very weak in the nebula and don't contribute much in the way of detail. The HA data has been used as the GREEN channel and also a Luminance channel for the final image.

The HA data is a little wider since I have had some small alignment issues between sessions, still setting up and tearing down my kit each night / session

North-American-Nebula.jpg

This is the alternative colour schema, I suppose that there is no wrong or right colour schema its just down to your personal preference?

Which one do you like?

NGC7000-North-American-Nebula-Alt.jpg

North-American-Nebula_HA.jpg

Hi all, Neil emailed me his pre-stretched stack to have a go at the colours as he was not very happy with them...not "Hubbly" enough where I think his words, anyway with his Lordship enroute to the UK at the moment I cant email them to him yet so I thought I would post my results here (I know he wont mind :D )

The hubble palette is a personal one and my tastes switch all the time but I'm tending to go towards slightly more de-saturated look at the moment and trying to tease a bit of the cyan/turquoise/green colour you see on some hubble pics.

Anyways here's my effort, I think it looks more natural while still maintaining drama.

Hope this image works?

NGC7000-PI-LRGBCROP.jpg

Thanks Matt,