Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

You guessed it.

Red Devil

Yep. Another newbie :). Just to let you know, I'm new to all this, but I have been interested for quite some time. Anyway, I should be picking up as new 'scope tomoz and think I'm gonna plump for either the Skywatcher 200 dob or the Skywatcher 200 Explorer w/EQ5. My thoughts are that these are pretty much the same piece of kit, but with different mounts. (I'm sure you'll put me right though) Your thoughts on my choices appreciated pls.

Right, that's my first of many questions asked. I'm sure there'll be plenty more. :)

Welcome to SGL! I am sure you will find everybody very freindly in here. :)

As for your question, you are correct the only diffrence (I assume) is in the mounts. The EQ5 is an equatorial mount, this means you can line it up with north and it can track the movement of the stars. This is important if you are going to do any astrophotography as well as being a big advantage when using high magnifications for example viewing planets. The Dobsonian mount is a alt/az mount and you push it to where you want to observe, the Dob mount has the advantage of being nice and simple to set up and requires no polar alingment. As said above if you want to get in to astrophotography I would choose the EQ5 over a dob but if that aint your bag then, well....I would still go for the EQ5 if it was within my price range, it is more flexible than a dob i.e. you can mount another scope if you get one or even have 2 scopes on the same mount. It gives the option for photography if you decide to go that way later on etc...

Its up to you though, bot setups will work very well, I dont have the skyliner scope but loads of folks on here do and it gets a good write up.

I look forward to your first light report!

Welcome aboard RD, enjoy your stay here.

Hard to suggest which of your choices is the best because they

both have equal fors and againsts.