Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Greetings from Glasgow.

Geo

Well after years of wanting a telescope I finally took the plunge this week and bought myself an Astromaster 130 (with motor) It was £150. I have also grabbed the Celestron Eye Piece & Filter Kit (£139.99) and a Telrad Red Dot Finder since the one supplied is apparently not very good.

I am completely new to telescopes and astronomy, I know it's not going to a cakewalk but if it makes me even more excited than I am right now then it will have been worth it! I should have it in a few days.

Just wanted to come say hello and ask if this kit is a good place to start? What can I expect from my first week?

Thanks, please be patient with me if you can because when I say I know next to nothing about all this, I really mean it!

Excited!

• Replies 35
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I Geo and welcome to SGL :)

I'm never used the Astromaster but the size and type of scope (newtonian) is a good start, and with a Telrad I feel you've made a great choice - very useful.

I have the Celestron ep kit - and can use all the ep's except the 4mm and 6mm cos the exit pupils not big enough for me. If you're a younger person you may get on with them better (exit pupils shrink with age lol).

In your first week stick to easy objects - Moon of course, Pliades, M42, and Saturn, to name but a few. Download Stellarium if you haven't allready - it'll show were objects are in the sky at your location. And learn how to polar align the tripod and mount.

You're sure of a thrilling time - any questions just open a thread in the beginners help section :(

Hi Geo, welcome to SGL. If you need any info just shout mate, I'm sure there will be someone that will be able / happy to help.

As you are in Glasgow you might be interested in this little society...... Scottish Astronomers

and we have a forum here....

CSOG Forum - Index