Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

What can I really see?

Vempire1976

Hello all

I am a complete novice at this but wish to become some what more. My brother has just lent me his 3inch telescope with both a 12.5mm and 20mm eyepiece, as well as an SR4, lunar filter, a 1.5 and 3 Barlow.

I have so far managed to get some good views of the Moon but the stars actually look brighter with my naked eye!!

Any suggestions would be great, but please remember that I am a novice. Thanks in advance!:)

• Replies 28
  • Created
  • Last Reply

When things are too dim in a telescope it is usually because you have too much magnification so an eyepiece of longer focal length should be used. The magnification is found by dividing the focal length of the telescpe by that of the eyepiece.

The stars may have looked dimmer simply because they were not the same ones as you saw naked eye. The ones in the scope were probably below the naed eye limit.

Do you have a small finderscope on your brother's instrument? This allows you to know where you are looking but it needs to be aligned during the daytime on a distant object. Both scopes need to point the same way, obviously enough!

Olly

Defender. Thanks for the link. Ollypenrice, it does have a finder scope but it is rubbish!! I was looking at the Moon last night and it looked great, but then a checked the finder scope (just being curious) and the moon was in the top right hand corner!!

Very confused! However, thanks for the advice about daytime alignment. Will try that later.

Defender. Thanks for the link. Ollypenrice, it does have a finder scope but it is rubbish!! I was looking at the Moon last night and it looked great, but then a checked the finder scope (just being curious) and the moon was in the top right hand corner!!

Very confused! However, thanks for the advice about daytime alignment. Will try that later.