Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Buying a roll-off-roof observatory in the UK

ste7e

Hi all

I'm joining the ranks of the can't-live-with-the-setting-up-and-tearing-down-of-equipment-each-imaging-night crowd.

I've decided on a small (8'x6') roll-off-roof but don't have the necessary skills to build a high-quality building myself.  I'm happy to do the electrics, electronics and software to automate it but the build is well out of my wheelhouse.

So, I need to buy something...  I've looked to see what's available in the UK.  All I've found so far is HomeObservatoryUK.  I've asked them for a quote but they've not got back to me and they don't answer on either of the phone numbers on their site.  That's off-putting enough for me to be reluctant to work with them.

Can anyone out there in SGL land suggest any other options for me?

TIA

echo scotty38, I have no experience of the team you mention but some on here do, well worth a quick search on here.

Also have a google for garden observatories it may bring a few to the surface.

As an aside, I have recently stuck a pier into the ground, it saves a great deal of time; so unless you will be using a tripod, you will need a pier in your chosen position anyway, maybe use that as a first step.

All the best.

Edited by M40

I've seen something recently on one of the Facebook astro buy and selling pages where someone built a ROR and there was a price to it.

As above, HOUK has been under a bit of pressure and there was a thread about it. Be worth searching for it..

Thanks for the help.

I have done plenty of searching, M40, but hoping to get some recommendations from people who have used the companies.  I need to do some prep work in the garden (move an existing shed) before I can build a pier and want to make sure I've got a supplier lined up before I even start that :)  I'm thinking of a Todmorden pier