Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Hello from North Carolina

McQ

I've always been filled with wonder when looking at the night sky and had a crappy telescope as a kid but on a whim bought a baby dob a couple of years ago and then recently bought a used Orion XT6 from a neighbor and find myself spending more time looking up. Looking forward to learning and sharing experiences.

p.s. I also enjoy looking at little things through microscopes.

-Rick

• Like 4

2 hours ago, Astro_Dad said:

Welcome on board! You’ll be aware there is a microscope forum on here too. 👍 Are you a crystals and materials fan or more biological? 

I studied biology, but never worked in the field. My observing these days is with my family, to share the wonder and complexity of life. But we look at minerals and anything. I have a stereo dissection microscope, it was easier for the kids when they were little to grab stuff without preparing slides. I also have a cheap digital microscope, which is a lot of fun and can be used anywhere with a cell phone to take photos and video that would be difficult with a lens based scope.

• Like 1

4 hours ago, McQ said:

I studied biology, but never worked in the field. My observing these days is with my family, to share the wonder and complexity of life. But we look at minerals and anything. I have a stereo dissection microscope, it was easier for the kids when they were little to grab stuff without preparing slides. I also have a cheap digital microscope, which is a lot of fun and can be used anywhere with a cell phone to take photos and video that would be difficult with a lens based scope.