Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Solar Scope

ThomasLondon

Hi,

I currently have a Lunt 50THa and I am looking for something showing more detail and contrast on the sun's surface. I have been considering the new Meade SolarMax III 70 Double Stack, the Lunt 60 with DS (fairly expensive in comparison) and now stumbled across the Daystar Chromosphere. My key considerations:

- I love that I can just take out the Lunt at lunch time, put it on a photographic tripod, and I am up and running in about 5min. 

- When travelling, it would be easier to have one telescope to take with me for day and night use

- Cost is certainly an aspect - I do not want to spend more than about 3000 pounds.

May I get your input on a couple of assumptions I am making (and which may be completely wrong - sorry, I am not a telescope expert, I just love using them...)

- The only purpose of double stacking is to get a narrower bandwidth using (cheaper) filters with a wider bandwidth - by using two 0.7nm filters tuned to slightly different bandwidth the Lunt and the Coronado achieve 0.5nm effective transmission.

- A Daystar Chromosphere with a transmission of <= 0.5nm will hence show me the same detail as a Lunt or Coronado Double Stack with a single Etalon

- A refractor up to 80mm does not require an additional ERF

- A relatively cheap achromat will do - as I am only observing at a single wavelength, the correction for multiple wavelengths really does not make a difference (at least for H alpha)

So on that background I guess an 80mm refractor with the DayStar will give me a really good solution  am I right?

Best

Thomas

16 minutes ago, ThomasLondon said:

- I love that I can just take out the Lunt at lunch time, put it on a photographic tripod, and I am up and running in about 5min.