Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Hello, 

My name is Daniel.. i recently bought a sky watcher 150p  , since then i struggle with the alignment  for different reasons (UK weather most of the time) now having this great days i tried again let`s say everything was alright  not perfect.

I am more interested to do astro photography then just looking trough the eyepiece..so i tried  i attached my camera Canon 50D to the telescope..but it looks like i can`t get the right focus.. so i just went online bought a Eye piece projection i tried again and still i got problems with the focus. (can someone let me know what i do wrong or how i should do it)so i can take some pictures with Jupiter.. or how i can get any pictures.. as i really wanna take pictures with Planets,Galaxy etc..

I am new to this so be gentle :) i appreciate any comments.

Thank you, Daniel 

hello welcome to SGL. Most Newtonian reflectors have a problem with focusing a dslr camera. The problem is usually because you can't get the camera sensor close enough to the secondary mirror to achieve focus. The can be solved in two ways. the first is to move the primary closer to the secondary, not recommended unless you know what you are doing and know how to recollimated the telescope. The second is to use a barlow lens to move the point of focus outwards. The 150P might have the 2" Crayford focuser which will have a direct slr fitting.

I use my canon 1100d on 150p and have got loads of images (nothing like the beautiful images on here with more suitable equipment but to me, I love them). 

Camera is attached with a t ring adapter at prime focus for deep sky stuff. I reach focus winding in to about 1 finger width of all the way in. Then I fine tune focus on a bright star using a bahtinov mask. 

For lunar imaging I use a 2 x Barlow. 

Here's a picture of about where I reach focus. Hope this helps. 

IMG_2413.JPG

23 hours ago, Cornelius Varley said: