Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Polaris 114 EQ vs Polaris 130MD EQ

I'v been interested in astronomy for a while and i am about to purchase my first telescope and have decided between 2, i'm not very good with the technical side of them so would like some advice on which would be better for me. I have copied the spec of each one from the website which is on currys, i appreciate any feedback.

MEADE Polaris 114 EQ Reflector Telescope - £109.00

Magnification 158 x  
Magnification 2 111 x  
Objective lens diameter 114 mm  
Eyepiece 1 6.3 mm  
Eyepiece 2 9 mm  
Mount Equatorial  
Coated optics Yes  
Waterproof Yes  
Fog proof No  

Box contents  
- 6.3 mm eyepiece  
- 9 mm eyepiece  
- 26 mm eyepiece  
- Barlow Lens x 2  
- Accessory Tray  
- Autostar Suite Astronomy DVD  

MEADE Polaris 130MD EQ Reflector Telescope - £149.99

Magnification 103 x
Magnification 2 72 x
Objective lens diameter 130 mm
Eyepiece 1 6.3 mm
Eyepiece 2 9 mm
Mount Equatorial
Motor drive Yes
Coated optics Yes
Tracking rates Lunar

Box contents
- Meade Polaris 130MD Reflector Telescope
- Eyepiece 6.3 mm x 1
- Eyepiece 9 mm x 1
- Eyepiece 26 mm x 1
- Barlow lens x 2 
- Electronic RA motor drive
- Pre-assembled tripod with accessory tray
- Autostar Suite astronomy DVD

CAnnot see it specified but I half suspect that the 130 is a Bird Jones design. Which generally means a poor final instrument. In defence of Bird and Jones the principal is good but it needs good optics that are matched to the scope and on these the additional barlow is neither good nor matched.

As such therefore the 114 appears the more honest scope.

Ignore the Autostar Astronomy DVD, think I have one lying on the floor, never looked at it and suspect I never will. Not sure what is on it but I guess nothing of real relevance. Suppose it looks good on the advertising.

Neither are great scopes and therein lies the problem.

Check out this: www.astronomyclubs.co.uk