Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Accessories vs New Telescope

Hello everyone! 

I have a Celestron Astromaster 70az. I've been on winter break recently and have got the opportunity to utilize it in the evenings and early mornings. I used it this morning around 4-5 am IST to spot Jupiter, and boy was I overcome by excitement. Since I acquired this scope from my cousins', it's been rather untouched. Perhaps the alignment/collimation is off but I only see a distant white speck. It could be the shortcomings of my telescope but I would rather have you guys correct my understanding on this as I am a novice to astronomy. 

My main inner debate was whether I should look for extra accessories or purchase a more powerful scope good enough for planetary observation. (Sidenote: I have a 20mm and a 10mm scope that came with this box). 

Now, I live in the middle of Mumbai which is a bustling city. I realize light pollution and other pollution also factor in greatly. I would like to hear more experienced people out before making hasty decisions.

Thank you, 

-H

Hi.

Jupiter should be fine in a 70mm scope.Find it in your 20mm first and make sure it's in focus.Keep looking and after a few seconds you'll make out some detail and moons. Then put your 10mm and refocus. It will obviously be bigger. Jupiter is so bright that light pollution shouldn't be a problem.

I have a 70/700 scope too. I would recommend learning with it before getting a new scope. These scopes are just so light and easy to set up and put away again. I've just upgraded with a couple of cheap plossl eyepieces and I'm really satisfied but my old ones were probably worse than yours. Of course dreaming about a better scope is part of the fun.

Good luck.

Personally I would enjoy what you have as in the first response ( but it is a small beginner scope ) then wait to move to a bigger one, I would not bother with extras for this scope , better to move up.