Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

wanting to get into astrophotography

bazander

Hi All

Complete beginner here but have always been interested in astronomy and anything space related. I  have decided I want to get into astrophotography as a hobby now I have the time to do so.   

I do realise this is probably a difficult area for a beginner to start with, but this is the area that really interests me. After a fair bit of research I have decided to go with the  Skywatcher Explorer 200PDS, as I feel it will give good photographic results as well as decent viewing. 

A question regarding the above scope, there is an offer I am looking at that has the EQ5 PRO Go-To Equatorial Mount bundled with it. Does anyone who owns this scope feel this mount will be good enough or should I go with an eq6?

Full details of what im looking  here 

http://www.rothervalleyoptics.co.uk/skywatcher-explorer-200pds-eq5-pro-goto-telescope.html

As for image capture to start with I am going to use my canon eos 1000d, will probably go with better later on.

Would be interested to hear from anyone who has this setup, and any images taken.

Before you spend a penny, go onto the FLO website, in the book section and get hold of a copy of 'Making Every Photon Count'...... This is something of an imagers bible and should be read once, twice and thrice before spending a penny. Then think about what you need and why and only if you know that answer, spend your hard earned cash.

Astrophotography is very counter intuitive to anything you may have already done...... this book will help you to understand what you are doing and why.

This for example sounds silly, but THE single most important thing in astro imaging is the mount, not the telescope and not the camera..... sounds odd eh? 

It's a great hobby and all consuming I have found..... good luck! Sorry I haven't answered your specific questions, but I thought that this was worth saying :)

Welcome to the forums!