Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Hello

Farid

Hello stargazers!

My name is Farid, I live in Antofagasta (north of Chile), very close to the big observatories! I'm an amateur astronomer with many years observing, now working as a Research Assistant at the Unit of Astronomy of the University of Antofagasta, and as visitor guide of ESO's Paranal Observatory.

My current equipment is a Celestron NexStar 8 SE over a Celestron Advanced GT mount, an Atik 314L+ CCD and many other accesories for now exploring more serious stuff (photometry/exoplanet transits/asteroids/etc.) and astrophotography as well!

I also like astrophotography (I use a Canon 6D and 650D), so if you are interested, you can see my online album at www.austrinus.com/astrofoto. If you also like, www.austrinus.com is my personal astronomy page (but is only in Spanish, if you want to learn :)). Finally, just by curiosity/fun, I created a personal catalog of 300 nice objects (mostly visible at 23ºS) for ≥8'' telescopes: www.caelum.austrinus.com.

Hope I can share and learn some observing experience with you, from the southern hemisphere!

Best regards,

Farid.

Greetings & welcome to SGL, Farid. It's great you have joined us. You arrive with a lot of experience behind you! And you are very welcome! We are all very nice people who love helping others with the many questions in the myriad worlds that astronomy embraces. So please make yourself at home. I'm sure you'll find many people from the Southern Hemisphere who would appreciate your 300-objects list.

Clear & Dark Skies,

Dave

Hi Farid,

Welcome to SGL, it sounds like you have an excelent location for some very good observing. Living here in Birmingham, UK, I don't get to many clear nights, and when we do its a battle with the light pollution. So I am full of envy for someone with clear dark skys, make the most of them.

Best wishes and clear skys.

Dave.