Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

So glad to be here!

mpaffenr

Hello all,

My name is Michelle and I am new to the astronomy world but I'm excited about the adventure. I received my first ever telescope for my birthday a few weeks ago, a celestron powerseeker 127eq. I've begun searching and reading about how to get started in astronomy, as well as how to use my telescope, but have found myself rather overwhelmed with the various online articles. I am very interested in truly learning and understanding astronomy so that I can get the most out of the experience even if that means starting out with simple star maps and binoculars. I am excited to be a member of this group and hope that I can learn from fellow stargazers. If anyone has tips, hints or suggestions for starting out in this wonderful world of astronomy, please feel free to share!!

Thank you!

Michelle(:

I'm a newbie.

• Replies 28
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Michelle and welcome to SGL - A great place to start would be to join a local astronomy group - You don't give any idea of your location, so can't help with that I'm afraid. There's some good planetarium programmes out there to help you learn your way around the sky, such as Stellarium which is free as well. There's lots of info in the beginners section and stickies too.

Hope that you enjoy your time here and the start of your astronomy hobby - We're all slightly mad too!!! :D

Look forward to seeing you around :)

Welcome Michelle - best advice I can offer is:

1) use your scope as much as possible and don't worry about inevitable failures, things you don't understand, disappointments and frustrations - all part of the steep learning curve, all will become clear in time and there is no hurry.

2) By a copy of "Turn Left At Orion" - possibly the best book for beginners and more advanced astronomers there is.  It will help you navigate around the sky in a very simple and easy to understand way.