Hello from Sittingbourne Kent

Astro Kent

Hi everyone :-)

I'm part time wedding tog so have a lot of gear already.

I've heard that Kent council are planning to switch of the lights from 12-5 am .. This is in practice already but not in my area... I hope they do it cos the light pollution here is disgusting !!

Im just starting out with the basics ie nightscapes and using a few different prime lens.

I'm hooked and want to go further but a lot of the telescope terminology is confusing, I plan to save for a

The Skywatcher Evostar 80 DS-PRO ED outfit

EQ3 PRO SynScan mount... I'm unsure if this mount can track for stacking images.

What's does everyone think of this scope and mount combo?

Image attached was taken in the back garden with a 40m pancake on a 5d mark ii

post-35751-0-10877300-1393527932_thumb.j

• Replies 34
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi and welcome to SGL - Glad that you found us. The 80ED scope that you mention is an excellent starting point. This may sound odd, but THE most important part of an imagers rig is the mount. You need something solid and one that is able to track accurately. To this end, many people recommend the HEQ5. It really is a good mount to start with and will be future proof for a little while at least.

Get yourself a copy of 'Making Every Photon Count' from the book section of the FLO website. It is an imagers bible and it will really help you to understand what you need and why. Don't spend a penny until you have read it through at least twice!! 

If you have decent lens' you could always just get the mount for the time being and use them with your camera and get a scope later.

Hope that helps :smiley:

Hi,

Thank you for the warm welcome :-)

Every photon counts..... Purchased tonight, looks like a good read.

The HEQ5 mount is 750 quid! Not the kind of money I wanted to spend on my first mount lol, was hoping to keep it under 500.