Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Good Morning

Teignstar

I have just jointed the forum to learn a lot more about 'stargazing'

I am new to astronomy, but have always had a vague interest, now I have that opportunity.

I have recently retired and as a present have been given a Nexstar 6SE, which appears to be a great instrument to start with. It also has a case of lense and filters, a battery pack and lens shade......................so I am ready to go!!

Fortunately, we have had some some nice clear skies lately and I have started to look through it. The moon looks awesome and was of course easily found!!

I am being challenged by the SkyAlign system!! At times it says I have a match, but when I confirm, it says align has failed.

Suffice to say, I think I have all stages right, but clearly something is wrong .

Any help here would be appreciated, it seems this is an area where many struggle.

I am hoping for many more clear skies in order to explore more of the heavens!

I look forward to getting more involved and learning from those with longer experience.

Peter

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Welcome to SGL, Peter. The 6SE is a very nice and capable little instrument. I have the 8" version of those optics on a different mount, and have had loads of fun for many many years. I cannot help you much in the alignment bit (as I have a different mount, without ANY software), but I do hear sometimes people input the date in European format (dd/mm) rather than American (mm/dd). This can completely throw a system (although I do not know whether that is the case with the 6SE).

Hello and welcome Peter.