NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Hello from france

aries

Hi everyone! still having problems logging on to the forum having registered a new account, Having to log on every time i change the page, very off-putting! anyone else had the same?

My name is Nick, and I live in the Limousin region of france, out in the sticks of a small farming community, the lp is almost zero! Lovely!

Asked santa for a scope this year, after having the urge to see all the wonders of our skies since i was a wee lad and lo and behold, a starter scope arrived under the tree!

The scope is a Bresser Galaxia 114mm, with a focal length of 900mm, reflector. on an EQ mount, Stainless steel Tripod, 3 eyepieces, 27mm, 9mm, and 4mm. A 3x Barlow and blue filter for the moon (?) and being a complete newbie to this hobby, would be very grateful for any feed back on what i should expect to see with this scope, and your opinion on the equipment.

I've seen orions nebulae, and a few other smallish objects, but when i change the eyepieces over, having difficulty achieving a sharp focus, is this to be expected? or is it due to atmospherics?

Thanks for taking the time to read and laugh at this thread! Happy Gazing!

• Replies 37
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Welcome Nick :rolleyes:

What browser are you using, and are the cookies set correctly (sounds like not)?

As for the scope, you'll get some good views through it - but pop over to the Beginners section as there are several versions of the same question you have asked :lol:

Enjoy those dark skies!!!

Hi Daz,

Thanks for taking the time to reply, will play with the scope for a while, and see what she can do, and ask a few questions on the recommended eyepieces for it to replace the Kelner's that came with it, and whether the plossl's will change the viewing quality at all. Also, played with the security suite on the 'pooter, and it seems to be working now!

Regards..........

Nick. :rolleyes:

Hi Daz,