NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Buying a dobsonian: 8 inch or ten inch?

I am just getting started with this amazing hobby. I have not even purchased a scope yet. I have done a lot of research and have decided a dobsonian scope is best, lots of good viewing for the money. I have read other forums but I can not decide whether to get an 8 inch or ten inch scope. At first I assumed the ten inch would  be best but after reading several articles I am thinking 8 is fine, since I am a beginner. The price difference is minimal so all of you out there I would love to hear your opinions and experiences with both.

Thank!

I just purchased a 10" and am happy with it.This size is at the limit for portability,for me anyway.I'm just north of you here-depending on where you are in Minnesota,there are some very dark skies available.The 8" f6? would be easier on eyepieces I think and easier to carry for sure.Have fun with your decision!

My vote would be a 10 inch solid tube dob, so long as the size and weight /portability are not a problem for you. Be sure to check out the size, or you may be in for a shock, these are big beasties!

John posted a lovely pic and weight info in this thread:

http://stargazerslounge.com/topic/172790-dobsonian-size-comparison/

I have a 10 inch dob and find it to be close to a perfect blend between ease of carrying out into the garden and light gathering power. I previously had a 12 inch Skywatcher solid tube dob (no longer sold) and that was a superb scope but I find the 10 almost effortless for me to move while the 12 always felt like a bit of a heft (though well worth it for good nights). As the 10 is so quick and easy to move, I found I used it a lot and would pop it outside to cool down even if the forecast did not look good.