NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Hi from Sussex, England!

Bathurst

Hi all, been fascinated by the Stars since I was a kid and owned a small Argos style telescope but not used that for 20 years. Always watched the Sky At Night and been intrigued by Brian Coxs' shows in recent years, so much so that I started Astrophotography with a 16x Compact Camera....yeah it's not amazing or anything but I got some cool shots!

I'm now in my mid 30s and decided to get a proper low budget scope so I can start to really check out the Galaxy, ordered a Skywatcher 130PM after researching around the internet (including threads on this forum, hence I'm now here!) and it arrived today! Put it all together this evening and in a strange way I was thankful that it's cloudy, had the stars been out I may of rushed the assembly and screwed it up!

Anyway yeah I'm technically a complete novice with a fascination of the Stars/Planets/Galaxies and very small knowledge of which stars are which (I have the Android App for that), I fully understand that the £200 on my scope wont be the last I'll spend on it as decent eyepieces are gonna be needed straight away, that and I need to Mod a Camera connection to the eyepiece...no I cant afford a DSLR so my Compact will have to do!

uuummm that's it I think, from Brighton in Sussex (UK) so have the mercy of the South Downs on my doorstep to escape the light pollution, roll on Comet Ison in December and Beatlegeuse (sp?) blowing up and giving us a show (see I told you I watch Sky At Night!!)

Cheers All

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply