Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Hello from Lisbon, Portugal

Zylkan

Hello my friends,

Just a beginner when it comes to photography in general and astrophotography in particular.

My budget is normally very limited but my drive and passion for this is growing and I'll do what I can to respond to my urges :p Being a recent father doesn't help either when it comes to free time as I'm sure many of you know.

I have a Nikon D5200 body (unmodded) and I invested in a few old school manual focus lenses since getting new glass would literally take me forever. I have:

Samyang 14mm F2.8,

Nikon 50mm F1.8 AI,

Jupiter 37A 135mm F3.5,

Super-Multi-Coated Takumar 200mm F4 (which I have yet to find a way to use on a Nikon body with infinity focus... or maybe I'll just switch to Canon some day!)

Tair 3A 300mm F4.5 which will require a full re-grease service and cleaning

I started playing around at night shooting some landscape astrophotography with the Samyang and I got hooked... When / if budget permits, my next steps will be to buy a decent tripod and a tracking mount. Who knows, maybe one day I'll be able to have a dedicated body so I can mod it.

Anyway I'm eager to learn and surround myself with like-minded people

Cheers!

José

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Jose and welcome to SGL, with all your photographic gear, looks like you will be going down the Astrotrack route for a tracking device. If you are into DIY, you could look up Dave Trotts "Barn Door" mount project, of which there are now many variations, some that will track for quite long periods. Very useful when finances are tight and you are a bit handy with tools :)

• 1 month later...