SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Hello from CA

bizzidy

Hi all,

This is my first post on SL and I thought i would give you a little background about me.

I am a new aspiring amateur astronomer and I have purchased my first telescope, a SkyQuest xt8 PLUS. I have been researching how and what to buy for a couple years by reading forums, attending a couple star parties and asking astronomers like you all here. I decided on a medium sized dob for the following reasons...

1. Bang for buck with regard to size of primary mirror.

2. Ease of setup and take down. I realized after my research that a complex or very large telescope may be an obstacle to my desire to get out and do viewing since I don't have a dedicated place to put and keep my telescope.

3. Ease of use by bumping it around the sky.

4. It will require that I learn the night sky since it has no intelliscope or GoTo feature. I fretted for a long time about this as having "tracking" capabilities would be really nice. This is especially true when kids are viewing and I have four going on five of them.

5. Overall cost.

I live in a medium sized city in the middle of nowhere and on the Bortle Scale my backyard viewing falls between 3-4. By driving a mile or more I can get closer to 2. This is all subjective based upon my unpracticed eye though.

The xt8 PLUS telescope comes with...

1. 2" Orion deep view lens for wide angle viewing

2. 10mm plossyl 1.25" lens.

3. Shorty Orion 2x Barlow lens.

4. Sun filter

5. 2 speed crayford focuser.

6. collimating cap

7. Starry sky software

8. 2" to 1.25" adapter ring.

After a bit more reading, here and elsewhere, it appears that some filters, and an eyepiece or two can really enhance my enjoyment under the stars. The list of accessories I have come up with are, in order of necessity...

1. Telrad sight finder.

2. moon filter.

3. Baader Hyperion Mark III zoom 2" Eyepeice. 8mm-24mm I think.

4. laser collimator