SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

OK, 10" really is better than 6...

jamespels

I have finally realised why I "traded in" my beautiful Tal2 for what I have been cursing as mass-produced Chinese junk for the last 18 months...

Some may remember but I bought a used SW250P on an EQ6 about 18 months ago for my 40th; I was allowed to get it on the proviso I sell the Tal and put the money towards the new scope. Long story short, my wife has dusted the 250 every week for the last year and a half but the scope never actually made it outside due to DIY and other commitments (and a fair bit of "I'm too tired tonight, maybe tomorrow", if I'm honest).

Anyway, I bought a slightly shorter focuser extension last week so it would achieve focus with my EPs and got the chance to take it out this evening. Skies were Ok for around here - about 5 or 6 stars visible in UMi and the Milky Way a feint streak.

All I can say is "wow". The SW kit may fall well short of the Tal in build quality but the jump from 6 to 10 inches made a staggering difference. I went out with no real plan and started out finding the double cluster in Cass; that looked far better than I have ever seen it before so I paid Andromeda a visit. M31 was still just an oval smudge but SO much brighter than I have seen it before. I even managed to track down M32 and NGC205 (I didn't realise just how huge M31 is until tonight - only saw the core, of course, but seeing the other two effectively mark it's extent...). By now, I was convinced the scope was a big step forward and tried for the Ring nebula - found that with surprising ease though I could not get any clarity without averted vision. Next I had a quick look on Stellarium for another interesting target above 30 degrees (nasty layer of orange staying to build around the horizon) and settled on M103 back in Cass, then across the sky to M42. Very good clarity in both, just about resolving stars in M42 with a X2 barlowed 25mm.