Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Hello from Chippenham

Clint C

Hi all.

I'm a newbie to all of this. Always had an interest in astronomy but did nothing about it until now... I blame Brian Cox, he made me do it luv. :p Anyway, seeing the guy demonstrating the dobsonian to Jonathan Ross on "Stargazing Live" I thought that looked like the kind of scope for me, simple and functional. Of course, having no idea of what was possible to see for myself posed a problem, I didn't want to purchase something that disappointed or would need upgrading immediately. I then rang a certain astronomy shop in the Podium, Bath where the friendly owner suggested I go along to the next Wiltshire Astronomy Society viewing session around the back of the Red Lion in Lacock, well I didn't need asking twice. Along I went with a mate and basically got an idea from the once again friendly folk there of what was possible. This was in January so it was very cold which may have accounted for the low numbers that turned out. Anyway, I then kept an eye out on astrobuysell and two days ago I collected my first telescope, a second-hand Skyliner 250-PX dobsonian with additional RDF, I understand that I won't be disappointed with this scope :). I'm now waiting for the clouds to clear. :(

Clint.

• Replies 29
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Clint and welcome to the forum.

Congratulations on getting a good scope. I would suggest joining up with the Wiltshire Astro Society as they are certainly proactive on the observing side of things and it is a very friendly club.

Clear skies

James

Hi Clint and welcome to SGL

Is That the Laycock why they film Cranford, if it is, it's a lovely place for an astro society.

It is indeed the very same Rusty.

Thanks to all for the warm welcome.

Clint.