Narrowband

Which is better, a 80mm refractor or a 114mm reflector telescope?

I am new to astronomy. I want a telescope to view deep sky objects.

I am looking for a telescope under $185. I am confused between a 80mm (f400) refractor and a 114mm (f900) reflector, because it's almost similar priced.

Edited by Navixc
Mentioned focal length

Oops! I'll get the popcorn....😉😄

May I ask which 80mm frac and which 114mm reflector? Also, what sort of targets are you looking to view? Any preferences?

Edit: just read it again....DSOs.

Edited by cajen2

Take a look at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S9AjNOCv-4I

This guy know what he' doing. Not surprisingly, he gave the best scores for a small, long refractor; more precise the Celestron Astromaster LT60 f/12. FLO has it in stock for 129£.  With a scope of that aperture you will not see much of DSO's anyway, it's more important that the scope gives crisp and sharp images of the stars, planets and moons. The higher f-ratio, the more forgiving optics. I have a 80mm f/5 refractor myself, hardly never use it. To much color distortion and to little magnification.

The Svbony 48P 90mm, f5.5 refractor for $350 C., you get a lot for that price incl great views of everything the nite skize have to offer. I have a 114mm, f4 reflector, there is no comparison. Good Luck and Clear Skies to you !

Edited by LDW1

I would personally go for the refractor in this case. I bought a Celestron Starsense LT70 which is only 70mm. I bought it solely for to cannibalize the Starsense unit to put on my dobsonian. I was pleasantly surprised by the views that it provided. Also you don’t have the trouble with collimation of the 114mm reflector.

• Like 1

Given similar quality telescopes, the 114mm reflector should be better for DSO's due to the larger aperture, the 80mm refractor, if a reasonably long focal length, should give tighter star images and better lunar and planetary performance.  It all depends on which "better" suits you.    🙂