Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

advice on a raspberry pi 4

Hi, I have an az gti mount using a skywatcher wedge and using in eq mode.  I havent used it in anger in this format yet.  Firstly i am going to try mounting a polar scope as my attached image shows. I'm hoping ive calibrated the polar scope well enough. But I've seen comments on here that you can use a raspberry pi4 and polar allign with that. This seems quite a cheap little thing, £32 for a 2gb version or £58 for a 2gb start up kit. I'd only be using it to pa and then use my dslr to take the images. Now i dont want to be taking laptops out with me as i have to carry everything in one go, scope, mount, tripod and backpack so portability is key..  Is there a link to a video where someone is using a pi4 and mount to pa without the use of a laptop.  I'm a total newbie in this form and want to see how the pi4 works in this instance.  I hope this rambling makes sense and thank you in advance for your help.

IMG_20210609_192146[1].jpg

Edited by AstroNebulee

Try the video referenced in this SGL thread to see how PA in Ekos works

Astroberry is free and uses Ekos (as does Stellarmate but the OS is not free)  so it's just the Pi hardware needed. You'd need a browser to view the Pi (or an app as supplied with Stellarmate), so no laptop but a tablet or mobile and keen eyesight (younger than mine).

Steve

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

Thank you Steve, I'll look at that thread, for the life of me I couldn't find it, the raspberry pi4 is quite cheap and using free astroberry and ekos with my tablet is doable, can I use my dslr to do the pa, I'll look in the thread though also, thank you again. Just researching other options if my polar scope doesn't work out.