SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Imaging with a Celestron 130

Hi all,

I am brand new to imaging and this is my very first set of images using the ASI224mc attached to a Celestron 130EQ scope and mounted on a HEQ5pro to give it stability and GOTO ability. This scope (OTA) has mixed reviews as it has a spherical mirror and I had little hopes for it. But considering what I have managed to get with just around 8mins of data, its looking promising. 🙂

This image is of M81 Bode's galaxy using around 100 exposures of 5sec each. These have been stacked and post processed in SIRIL. No darks or flats have been taken. Still new to this aspect of it ....The images were captured using Ekos. Any tips on how to improve the image are welcome !

B616C2B9-D763-4670-BFC3-031B39D551B7_1_105_c.jpeg.2eebd3c885591200d603da8efa3899ef.jpeg

Edited by AstroMuni
  • Like 20

Here is my second image. This is M82 , Cigar galaxy taken with a similar sort of sequence 100 x 5sec. Its amazing to know that its being massively influenced by M81 causing all the starburst activity at the centre.

Any suggestions on how to improve the image are appreciated.

CA1B02A3-48F0-4EEE-A52E-1B3BB0AC1688_1_105_c.jpeg.9c863589621f4a7b19c6aece617d7056.jpeg

Edited by AstroMuni
  • Like 9

Well done for your images from using what you have.

Flats and darkflats help with vignetting and background noise. Darks are worth trying to as you may find that's a help to your image for the camera you are using. Bias I'm not sure on but nothing lost trying.

The Celestron 130EQ was my first scope, and i never imagined you would ever be able to capture any decent image with it at all, so well done in getting this far!  Probably just some extra calibration images needed, definetly flats/darks will be the biggest help.

Adding more imaging time as well will help with noise reduction as well.

• Like 3

14 hours ago, CloudMagnet said: