Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Hi, newbie here! I’m hoping to get some advice on some star-gazing binoculars. I’ve read through the forum and I’ve decided to stay away from zoom bino’s because I’m just starting out, and I will eventually look into telescopes and whatnot if I wish to see the skies in more detail! 

So I’ve pretty much settled on something between 8 x 42 and 10 x 50. Please let me know the best ones in this range!!! 

I’ve read some reviews on the Helios Lightquest HR 10x50’s so any advice on those would be great too! I’m open to suggestions but what I’m really hoping to get is a sturdy pair of first binoculars that I can keep around for the long run, and hopefully drag around on many adventures. I’m willing to invest in a tripod as well for focused gazing, although I plant to keep them around my neck for a while so I can get used to them! 

I’m also unsure of how to find a great lightweight tripod so any links would be great! Love the forum so far and I’m excited to start observing the skies!

Happy Stargazing,

thehappypleiades

I have the Helios LightQuest HR 16x80, and they are superb, a distinct step up from the venerable Helios Apollo 15x70 I had, not just in terms of aperture, but also in terms of image quality. I can only assume the 10x50 version will be very good indeed. The other bins I use regularly, but mainly for birding are my Nikon Monarch 7 10x42 bins. Absolutely great, and very comfortable. I got them because Olly had once done a comparison between his Leica Trinovid 8x42 and a pair of Nikon Monarch 7 8x42 bins a guest had brought. Three people compared the bins on astronomical targets, and the results were essentially a tie, with one favouring the Leica, one the Nikon, and one couldn't see a difference. As luck would have it, shortly after I read this review, a local camera store had a BNIB Nikon 10x42 second-hand. I tried it, and fell in love with it. Its colour rendition, detail, and viewing comfort is just great.