Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

What's the best polar alignment app for Android?

Hi all, as a complete beginner, who is gradually getting some kit together, the question of which Polar Alignment App I should get for my Android phone is exercising my mind.  Looking at the android play store there seems to be a myriad to choose from, which do members recommend & why?

Hi Spidey. 

For Polar alignment you don't really need an app, however, there's an app for Android called 'Calibration' which will clibrte your phone's accelerometer then give you a compass so you can see where 'north' is. This will be magnetic north though so only an approximation.

Stellarium is an astronomical map and is great for locating objects in the night sky. Its available free on Google play with paid versions with more capabilities. You can use this to locate the north star (Polaris) and then align your scope to this. Aligning to Polaris is far more accurate.

If you use stellarium or a star chart to locate Polaris you will see that it can be found by drawing an imaginary line through the two stars that form the end of the big dipper (the bowl end). Once you know this it's fairly easy to align your scope without an app at all.

Hope that helps.

W.

Edited by WatcherF
To add additional info.

On 23/04/2020 at 18:20, Spider-Man said:

Hi all, as a complete beginner, who is gradually getting some kit together, the question of which Polar Alignment App I should get for my Android phone is exercising my mind.  Looking at the android play store there seems to be a myriad to choose from, which do members recommend & why?

I presume you are looking through a polar scope? If so then use the star adventurer mini console. When loaded up, use the polar clock utility to show where Polaris needs to be in your polar scope (you need to put your location into the app).

16 hours ago, WatcherF said:

Hi Spidey.