NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Need help please

Hey guys this is my first time on this website. I bought a Celestron 50az and I am able to observe the moon very clearly, but I'm having problems observing planets can someone explain to me step by step how to observe planets with this telescope. Also can I view nebulas, galxy, clusters with this? ( I think not, right?) Thanks!!!

Can you explain what you have tried and why it has not worked?

Best placed planets at the moment are Jupiter and Mars but they are visible in the hours before dawn currently.

You will be able to see the brighter objects such as M42 (the Great Orion Nebula) and the Double Cluster.

i would probably start by making sure your finderscope is aligned well otherwise you'll be frustrated trying to aim your scope at a tiny dot of a planet, the moon is easy enough, during the day aim your scope at a feature like a streetlight in the distance

through the eyepiece. Once you've done that then carefully adjust your finderscope to point at the exact spot you've seen through the eyepiece then leave it alone, then at night just aim your finder at a planet and your scope should be looking at the same thing. 

You may want to keep your tripod as collapsed as possible, as low as possible, it is very thin and will shake a lot the more you extend it, i like to keep my tripods as low as i can manage, looking up this scope on Celestron webpage it says 

"slow motion controls" yet i see no such controls, those would help.

1. In the day, point your telescope at something far away, like the corner of a rooftop, or a church steeple. Make sure whatever you're using is right in the middle of the eyepiece. Then look through the finder scope, and carefully use the adjustment screws to get the point you're using in the center of the finder. Double check that the point is still in the eyepiece, then make sure the scope doesn't get knocked.