Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

I need an explanation for the "ND" in ND filters?

pixelperfect

Before I continue, I do know ND is neutral density. But my question.... It seems to be common knowledge that a filter of level ND 5 is needed when viewing the sun. My ND filters for my camera are ND 2,ND 4, ND 6, and so on. So can I use one of these to view/photograph the sun? If not, what is the difference between my ND camera filters and the other ND filter/film sheets everyone bought for the eclipse?

I'm sorry but I am new to any photography with telescopes. It's almost embarrassing to say it's been in storage. 

So, Thank you to anyone and everyone that can help!

It goes without saying that you should never view the sun, either by unaided eye or through a telescope, except  through a filter specified for that task. 

It is essential that the filter (Baader film for example) be placed at the input of the instrument and not at the output end. The telescope is gathering a lot of light and focusing it down at the eyepeice or camera. A  filter at the eyepeice, or placed in front of a camera attached to a telescope,  will quickly become damaged by the focused sunlight .... and then go on to damage your eye or camera. 

I assume you know that neutral density filters are logarithmic in as much as ND1 means 10% is transmitted, ND2 means 1% transmitted and so on. ND5 means 0.001% of the light is allowed through. 

PS Sorry If I'm repeating what others have said but I expect a few others will post an answer by the time I hit "submit reply". 

1 hour ago, Ouroboros said:

It goes without saying that you should never view the sun, either by unaided eye or through a telescope, except  through a filter specified for that task.