Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

total beginner

had a celestron eq130 brought me for a present, ive been keen on photographing the moon and taken some outstanding photos...always amazed me to look further and closer at the planets..so  after a lot of soul searching.. the scope was purchased for me.ive got a 3x barlow lens on route and currently have a 10mm and a 20mm .. ive never used one in my life. some good solid starter tips would be great. the attached photo was taken with mu nikon camera  in my front garden 

DSCN1326.jpg

Spend 20 pounds on Turn Left At Orion (book), its will enable you to get the most of your scope as it gives clear directions to star hop to most of the major sky objects, it's no fun if you can't find anything!

it also has sketches of what you will see in a small scope then you KNOW when you have found it.

dont rush into loads of extras, get out for a few nights first then you have a better idea of where you want to make improvements.

Alan

thank you for all your help.. ive ordered a replacement for my finder..i read the supplied thread and went for   Telrad Finder"   in the end as it got great reviews and seemed to be the one of choice.where would be the best location on scope to place it when it arrives..

thanks

When your Telrad arrives the position on the scope is a personal one. I would suggest you temporarily fix it with low tack masking tape and move it until you're happy with the position.

BTW you will find the Telrad a dew magnet, a quick and easy way to keep it clear is to cover it with an old piece of towelling when not in use. Not very attractive but who's going to see.

Good luck.

ok this is going to sound like a really dumb question.. bright star/planet low in sky..<jupiter> ..pointed my scope, perfect got it in sight..when i looked in eye piece and adjusted the zoom..i got a perfect image of the cross hairs on the front of scope..could this be a damage issue? 

13759_3_.jpg

Shaun,