NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Just a bit of fun!

Hello all, 

Just a bit of fun on a Tuesday afternoon (the weekends quite a while away) 

I'm slowly getting into astrophotography and am taking in various advice from various places and people regarding good equipment to buy to get my started, in the mean time, my question is- 

What is the best peice of advice you can give to the complete newbie to astrophotography? 

• Replies 28
  • Created
  • Last Reply
26 minutes ago, MARS1960 said:

!). Buy the book Making Every Photon Count by Steve Richards, it's available from FLO but there are other outlets :icon_biggrin:.

Great idea, I've seen it mentioned a few times.. It's on the (very long) 'to purchase' list! 

Read, read, and then read some more about the theory, and the practice of astrophotography, so that you understand what you will need to do before you do anything or spend any money.

Identify the different types of astrophotography, and which type interests you most (Lunar, Solar, Planetary, Deep Sky, Widefield, Narrowband etc)

Buy a telescope that needs no tweaking, no collimating, like an ED80 refractor or a nice triplet (not a cheap one) and get a Bahtinov focus mask with it. Focus on focusing. 

Use as many clear spell nights as you can to practice, practice, practice, even partially cloudy nights, or full moon nights that are no good for imaging can be great for practising. This way, when you finally get a really good clear night (no moon, good transparency, steady seeing, maybe 2 or 3 times a year) you will be ready and not waste the night.

Oh, and get ready to spend a small fortune............. :p

Tell your loved one it's educational.  If the bug really gets a hold of you, forget all about foreign holidays and new cars; take out shares in Sky Watcher, Meade, William Optics, QHY, ATIK  etc etc.