Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Information Overload!

Hi Folks,

This is my first post to the forum and I'm in need of some help... A friend of mine has recently decided to get into astronomy (specifically astro-photography) and he seems to have sucked me in along with him! :)

I've been a photographer for the past 30-odd years and I've also been toying with the idea of trying astro-photography. My problem is that I'm very picky about my images and expect them to be of good quality. With this in mind, I'm struggling to decide on what to put my cash in to because I know what I'm like and poor quality (unsharp) images will have me infuriated in no time. I have a four year old daughter that I'd like to introduce to astronomy so whatever I buy is going to have to produce results that would keep her interested. To be frank, lots of white dots in the sky won't hold her interest (or mine) for more than five seconds as you'd expect. I've been doing a lot of reading and whilst some of the information has sunk in, an awful lot seems to have gone in and come straight back out again! 

So far, I've narrowed down my list of gear to the following:

Skywatcher Explorer 150P-DS with the EQ3 Pro GOTO mount (assuming that it'll guide correctly).

Skywatcher SWA 70 degree 5mm eyepiece.

ToupTek Colour Imaging and Guide Camera

Collimating Eyepiece