Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Binos vs telescope for starting out

Hello everyone. As mentioned elsewhere, I am saving up for a $400 telescope, however I have often read that it is best to start with higher end astronomy binoculars, typically $70 and up, along with a tripod for as much as a year first. What is your opinion on this? And what's wrong with my $35 7x50 handheld celestrons?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

• Replies 28
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hello, i am a beginner too and looking for a handheld bins only. After some time you can decide on a bigger pair of binoculars for tripod use so i think for now there is nothing wrong with your 7x50 to start with.

Sent from my mobile phone.

Hello!

Binos are usually a great start. Don't have to spend a fortune on a pair either to get you started. 7x50 or 10x50 are great to use and when you do get a scope, the binos are still great for scanning the night sky. Before I got my first scope, I spent more than a year with my cheap Celestron UpClose 10x50. There are lots of wonderful things to see with binoculars.

For ages, I used nothing bigger than a pair of 7x50 binoculars. Great way to "learn the sky". I often still get them out for a "browse" while my scope is imaging. The only downside with them for me now is that, with age the maximum pupil size decreases and so some of their 7mm exit pupil is getting wasted. For older eyes, a pair of 10x50s (with a 5mm exit pupil) would be better.

Thanks.

7x50 or 10x50 are brilliant starter bins, and even when you get yourself some bigger ones, you will find the 50mm bins very handy. The do not have to be brand new either. My youngest son has a pair of mid-70s Yashica-built 7x50s which I got for free because they were "broken". A quick twist of the collimation screws and tightening of the grub screw holding the diopter setting ring in place, and they work fine again.