SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

What type of telescope do you prefer?

"Which type of telescope should I get?" I'm sure you guys have seen this question a million times, so as a beginner I'll try asking something a bit different: what type of telescope do you prefer and why? What is your preferred mount? How much do you like goto scopes as compared to manual?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

• Replies 30
  • Created
  • Last Reply

not trying to be funny but it does depend on my interest at the time.  This is possibly the reason that other members of the forum have several or more telescopes.

Initially I had an interest in DSOs and purchased one of the orange C8s - this was in my long departed youth :)  Life interrupted and I sold it - without any regrets.  Now, my interest is with photography and glass rather than mirrors so I now have a refractor (130mm) which I share with the family.  It's also an instrument that I would never dispose of.

Regarding the mount - that is what I am looking at purchasing next - one of the 10micron models.  Something which will hold the ota and several lenses/camera bodies/cmos units etc.

Goto or manual - to answer that I'll wait until after I've played with the new mount. :)

michael

Dob. Drop it on the ground and start observing. You need to be comfortable with star charts and enjoy the thrill of the hunt though. If you don't think you have the patience for that, then maybe you need a GOTO, but they aren't necessarily as easy as they make out.

It is very much depending what you want to do. If you like the outdoors with a family, a low lying sportscar, no matter how nice, is not for you :smiley: .