SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Hello from Surrey, UK

biminibob

Hi all,

I'm from Epsom in the UK.  I bought my first telescope from EBay last week, a SkyWatcher 127 with a tracking (not goto) stand.  I'm a keen amatuer photographer but new to Astronomy (that said, 25 years ago I did a GCE in astronomy and I also did some Astronomy for my Physics degree).

I'll have a search of the forum, but if anyone can help with two initial questions that would be great:

1 - I've not had time to take it out yet so only used it to view buildings about 20m away.  I cannot get a very sharp focus - is it because I'm too close at 20m?

2 - it only came with one eye-piece, 25mm, so I plan on buying the skywatcher zoom 7-21mm.  Is that a sensible move?

thanks

Bob

Thanks.  I'm planning on going to the racetrack at Epsom on Sunday to give it a first try, I'm guessing it's the darkest place and high up around Epsom.  Plus I can try it out for looking at London, can see the Millenium Eye etc... from a car park near the race track.

Hello and welcome to the SGL

1) yes you are probably too close to achieve focus

2) I use a 8-24mm zoom myself and it has the advantage of not having to change lenses in the dark, but the views achieved are not as good as with my single eps and the field of view is rather small at low magnifications

Hi Bob / 'biminibob' and welcome to SGL. :hello2:

A few things to bear in mind...

1. your 'scope OTA is a catadioptric.

2. catadioptric are excellant 'scopes for planets.

3. they are dew-magnets. Have you got a dew-shield? or was one included with the sale?

4. require at least an hour cool down before the views 'leap at you'.

5. the FOV will be narrow and slow at F/11.8 if planning astro-photography.

6. East & West will be 'reversed' if using a 90o star diagnonal. North & South are the 'right way up'.

7. enjoy! :icon_salut:

8. 20 metres is a bit close!