Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

First time camper?

DaveS

Following on from my posts in the "Dark Sky Site" thread I've started looking into basic camping gear for a single bloke.

I have to confess myself a total novice at this, the last time I had anything to do with a tent was on a summer camp with the school CCF in, well, um, er, not saying!

So I'm thinking:

Tent, not too small, perhaps a three-man to have a bit of room rather tha a one-man bivvy job.

Ground sheet (Or do they come with the tent? Told you I was a novice!)

Sleeping bag

Air matress? Or they only for wimps?

Something to cook on. Two burner Campinggaz thingy?

What else? Loads I've probably missed.

Likely it would be for a long weekend, or at most a week. Oh, and as I would be going to a darke site, my 'scope and mount together with AP kit.

So, any thoughts, reccomendations?

I bought a Trangia a few years back and now wonder how I lived without it. Its a patented design classic and folds away into next to nothing, runs on methanol so no chance of gassing yourself in your tent at night and weighs next to nothing. If you shop around online you can pick the non-stick version up for about £50.

I too am a first time camper, not yet been. I only got a tent so far but looking to get a folding table

Chairs

Sleeping bags

Air bed or those self inflation mattresses

Stove

Lights

A large plastic box to carry the cooking stuff and then to double up as a washing bowl

And anything else others mention

I got my tent from halfords a 4 man with a large middle section on offer because it was out of season for £20 should been around £200 so I'm going to do the same in the camping shop look for great bargins

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Hammer, extra pegs (extra strong), extra guide ropes, matches, torch (extra batteries as well), small camping table.

Pump for blow up bed. Repair kit for bed. Tin opener, and bottle opener.

The list goes on ….