Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Mars, clearly showing Elysium Mons!

Barv

Hi Guys.

Here's another one from the night of the 29th which  clearly shows the peak of Elysium Mons. Hopefully we'll get some decent seeing again before it gets too late!

Comments welcome as always.

Regards

Harvey

post-32779-0-66403400-1399230792_thumb.p

• Replies 36
  • Created
  • Last Reply

How are you all getting the image so large and distortion free? I also have a 11" EdgeHD but use a Mallincam Extreme and my images are very small.

The ZWO cameras have smaller pixels than the Mallincam I think. (ZWO's being 3.75 microns across). This would no doubt increase your image scale. Still seeing and good transparency is also important. (something we don't get much of in the UK). Once you get all these the image can be enlarged also.

Regards

Harvey

Thanks for the replies, Was not trying to hijack the thread I am just starting out, I do not have a CCD camera yet just the Mallincam I am trying to decide what to buy next for my 11" EdgeHD. the Hyperstar, or a CCD cam I was thinking about a starlight Xpress to go with the Starlight Express LodeStar auto guider but no clue what CCD best complements the EdgeHD's optics any ideas will be welcomed.

Ed,

You will find that one CCD won't cover all jobs. If you are interested in planets and the moon then a high speed camera offering 60 frames per second or higher is what you will be looking for. Typically these are fairly small chips and used for high magnification planetary shots, taking a movie, then stacking to obtain one still.