Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Finally doing it!!

Anarchist

Hi folks.

I'm new to this practical stargazing lark although I've always been an armchair astronomer (watching The Sky at night etc, etc).

A few years ago I bought a scope (Meade ETX90) but found myself intimidated by the goto aspect (I'm a total technophobe).

Anyway, my wife bought me some 15x70 binoculars at Christmas 2012 and I've loved being outside with them and it gave me the push to get the scope out of the cupboard. I'm still not using the goto but manually aiming the scope. I've had 2 short sessions of looking at Jupiter which has been a dream come true to see the equatorial bands, and I have to say I'm hooked.

I'm looking forward to help & advice from the good folks on here so see you around.

Anarchist

Hi and welcome to the forum. Well you prove one rule and that is not to get rid of old kit as you never know when you might get the bug again. Congratulations on find and observing Jupiter which is clearly going to be at its best this month. You might want to consider taking a look at "Turn Left at Orion" which list some 100 objects that can be observed with modest equipment including binoculars. Lots of great maps and written instructions on how to find the objects with a section explaining what you are looking at in order to further appreciate the view. If you want some idea as to the layout, you can take a look here. My only other suggestion would be to download a free piece of planetarium software called "Stellarium". Lots of features to help you learn the sky and it can be configured to show you an identical night sky to that which you can see from your viewing site. There are plenty of other features to keep you entertained when the clouds come - which they seem do with great frequency.