Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Feeling overwhelmed .... Help

Hi all,

Merry Xmas!!!:)

I'm not very technical but I've spent a few hours setting up my boyfriends telescope I bought him for Xmas (and I think it is all done now!) but I wanted to have this all set up and ready to use for him coming in a few days time.

I can see through the scope (trees etc) very clearly, so I've focused it correctly using a 20mm eyepiece.

It's the celestron 114 reflector telescope and it looks great so far.

Now, if I take this outside tonight to look at stars/moon, I will probably need to refocus the lense, is this correct? It will vary depending on the object?

Secondly, do I need to learn all of this RA and Dec stuff, as it's going right over my head. Or will we just be able to focus this on the moon and a few stars through the red dot finder? Or am I being very naive?

What would you say I need to read about in order to get to grips with this for when he arrives. I want to be able to take this outside and him be able to use it right away and also for me to be able to give some direction as I've set it all up.

I've attached some images, it's probably difficult for you to say yes or no, but does this look to be setup correctly to you? Nothing is back to front I hope!

I got a bit confused when it came to putting the slow motion cables on but they do turn the telescope when you turn the knobs so I'm assuming these are correct.

One thing I've noticed is that the telescope feels a bit .. Loose. Like when you don't have grip of it, it tends to weigh itself down a little. Any ideas?

Sorry for the long post and thanks in advance all!!

Lea

post-12619-0-90453600-1387975564_thumb.j