NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Greeting from Malaysia

Deep

Hi all ! I am a student from University Science of Malaysia ( University Sains Malaysia ) and I am currently studying chemistry as my major for degree.I am 20 years old.I get very interested in the sky after the introduction of my university`s astronomy Prof that my university in very active in star gazing. I am still very new in this field. Currently still looking for starter equipment to start my star gazing. I am also considering to take astronomy as my minor. Nice to meet u guys  :smiley: 

Hi Deep and welcome to the lounge

there is everything you need here in SGL, it's a very

friendly forum which will help you with everything to

do with astronomy, just ask.

and good luck with your studies,

Clear Sky's

Hi Deep and welcome to the lounge

there is everything you need here in SGL, it's a very

friendly forum which will help you with everything to

do with astronomy, just ask.

and good luck with your studies,

Clear Sky's

Hi Ronl ,tHanks for that ! Hope you good luck too.

A lot will depend on what it is that you want to do with a scope. Simply no scope at the starting level will do everything, also you need to decide if imaging will come into this and what form of imaging.

On the fully visual side and ignoring size to an extent and taking into account cost and a first scope the Sky Watcher 150P Dobsonian is a reasonable option. It will show most of what is up in the sky to observe and would I expect last you some time. In all but the rare circumstance it is not relevant to consider any form of imaging with this scope however. So do not think you will get it and manage some imaging. No motors, no tracking, you push, nudge, kick it to locate anything and you push, nudge, kick it to follow whatever across the sky. :eek: :eek: