Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Coronado PST, is it worth it?

Dan Leach

I would to be able to do direct observing of the sun and getting filters and stuff for my 200mm reflector worries me somewhat.

What are peoples experiences of this scope and its eyepieces?

Could I take pictures through with a DSLR or webcam?

Thanks

Dan

• Replies 80
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I've had mine around a year and love it! It's so easy to use and the views through it are amazing. By adjusting focus and the tuning ring you can bring different features out such as sunspots, filaments, faculae and, best of all for me, the prominences which you don't see with white light solar astronomy.

I will let others comment on the imaging side as I have no experience, although I've read that it is sometimes difficult to get enough focus range with DSLRs in particular so be aware of this.

Cheers

Stu

Visually the PST is a cracking scope. I've had mine since last May and am thoroughly enjoying it. The only down side is that I don't get to use it often enough!

Photographically I do not think the PST is the ideal choice. You cannot just plug in a DSLR as the scope will never reach focus and it seems generally quite difficult to get a camera to come to focus in an unmodified PST. Also the sweet spot in the filtration will not allow you to take full disc images in a single frame. Having said that there is some great imagery available in the solar imaging section taken through a PST so it can be done successfully.

I am just exploring imaging through a PST myself so have relatively limited experience. I am sure other, more experienced folk will add there thoughts.

when i had mine i loved every second of it, and begrudenly had to sell it but i will be getting another soon!!