Hi from complete novice.

foghorn

Hi Folks,

Completely new to Astronomy but have always found the night sky interesting. About a week ago myself and one of my boys took to the garden with a very basic scope and after a fair bit of trial and error located a what looked like a bright star which turned out to be Jupiter even managed to focus and see three moons we felt quite chuffed with ourselves.

Anyhow that ignited a fair bit of interest and I decided to invest in a telescope which I have spent the last few days looking into what was available.

I first started looking at the Sky-Watcher Heritage-130P FlexTube Dobsonian , then the Sky-Watcher Explorer-130P (EQ2) Parabolic Newtonian Reflector Telescope then followed by the Sky-Watcher Explorer-130P SupaTrak AUTO Parabolic Newtonian Reflector and finally the Sky-Watcher Explorer-130P (AZ) SynScan GO-TO Parabolic Newtonian Reflector Telescope. You will have realised by now that the cost was going up.

This morning I had second thoughts and thought for £300 which the Sky-Watcher 130p GO-TO costs I reckoned that if I invested all the money in the telescope not the tracking devices I should be able to get a better telescope also when I thought back to last week when I was able to locate Jupiter unaided with the scope perhaps that is part of the fun.

This afternoon with some help from reading members of this forums comments I pulled the trigger on the Sky-Watcher Skyliner-200P Classic Parabolic Dobsonian Telescope.

Hope I have made a good choice!

foghorn

• Replies 29
  • Created
  • Last Reply